Full Moon, Empty Blog

Call me superstitious, new age, a wacko, pagan, but I am absolutely sure the full moon always messes with me and my family. I don’t know if you noticed, but I missed my blog post yesterday. I can’t even remember what I ate for the most part! I worked out and had Tuna salad after and chicken salad before. Breakfast was an orange and two boiled eggs, Lunch was soup I think. I have NO Pictures! Lol. That’s how my day went! Here are the recipes I drew inspiration from for my two salads: http://littlebitsof.com/2016/03/avocado-dill-tuna-salad/  and Chicken salad link. I only used the picture of this chicken salad as inspiration and made up how I did it. I used left over chicken, grapes, an apple, celery, avocado, shallot and paleo mayo with lemon juice. The tuna salad I added dill pickles to. I ate them with a fork and celery sticks.

The night got sidetracked and I never made it to my blog. Boy#2 woke up at 1 A.M. and stayed up until 4 A.M. with my poor Hubs. This morning was a struggle getting out the door but we did it. Yesterday I made it to my weight lifting class and it felt good! Today I made myself get out the door for Aquafit which was also good! Took Boy#2 to gymnastics, and the library, he then accompanied me to get my haircut and was well behaved and cheery, despite lack of sleep. After that it got dicey, we may hav ehad a teensy melt down about our brother being in school on our way home…

I had a friend asking me about brewing kombucha today, here is the pic I sent to her of my first ferment set up. I love my big spigot jug. Makes testing the Booch so easy!  I boil a big pot of water on my stove and add about two cups of sugar then steep three full bags of loose leaf caffeinated tea in it for the amount of time that particular kind needs, then I take them out and cool it. After the tea is room temperature I pour it over my scoby and starter in the jar and set it in my cupboard. Easy!!  Here are some of the resources I have saved to my pinterest: http://www.80twenty.ca/2014/how-to-make-continuous-brew-kombucha-and-why-you-should/#_a5y_p=2163028    and how to make a scoby:  http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-your-own-kombucha-scoby-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-202596. I got my scoby from Matt over at Truly Local and it has been good to me.  Chances are that if you have a kombucha brewing friend they are itching to get rid of some scobies, so keep asking on line and looking around for who makes booch.  I looked up quite a few sites on kombucha brewing and gathered many different opinions on how to brew.  Mostly I don’t fret too much, keep an eye on my brew, but not too closely, it usually turns out just nice, unless I leave it too long with the scoby, then it’s vinegar.

For Breakfast today I had an orange, steak slices, and veggies in a bag on my way to the gym and to my hair appointment. For Lunch I had more of the chicken salad, seaweed and Sweets and Beats. It was a chaotic day with not much meal preparing, so this was my quick stuff.

20170112_145111.jpg

Lunch! I was SO HUNGRY! This was a n amazing lunch because of that;)

It was a successful day, busy but good. As I mentioned in my post about SWYPO food, the Full Moon tends to bring in the tide, and mine showed up yesterday.  Today I was feeling a bit draggy and drained, but not near as tired as I would usually be. I remember this from my first Whole30, Aunt Flo isn’t near as annoying or depressing when she isn’t assisted by carb loading and caffeine. But as I write this my eyes are sliding shut with the weight of sleep and I know that part has stuck around. Energy drag on day one of high tide.

For Dinner I made jaysbakingmecrazy.com/…/paleo-pizza-potato-skins , I used this Herbal Pizza sauce  and just substituted apple cider vinegar for balsamic and added chunky tomatoes to it. I also added some red peppers to the pizza skins because Hubs won’t eat mushrooms or olives, I served those babies on the side. The boy version had cheese on top and mine had nutritional yeast.

 

This was a huge hit with the family, except Boy#2 who ate…you guessed it, goldfish. Oh well, that battle lives to be fought another day.

From one tired mother to the others: Goodnight and may your children sleep!!

Cheers!!!

Court

Leave a Reply

